Genealogical Undermining for Conspiracy Theories

Genealogical Undermining for Conspiracy Theories


Genealogical Undermining for Conspiracy Theories

SourceURL: https://philarchive.org/rec/STAGUF-2


Genealogical Undermining for Conspiracy Theories

Abstract

In this paper I develop a genealogical approach for investigating and evaluating conspiracy theories. I argue that conspiracy theories with an epistemically problematic genealogy are (in virtue of that fact) epistemically undermined. I propose that a plausible type of candidate for such conspiracy theories involves what I call ‘second-order conspiracies’ (i.e. conspiracies that aim to create conspiracy theories). Then, I identify two examples involving such conspiracies: the antivaccination industry and the industry behind climate change denialism. After fleshing out the mechanisms by which these industries systematically create and disseminate specific types of conspiracy theories, I examine the implications of my proposal concerning the particularism/generalism debate and I consider the possibility of what I call local generalism. Finally, I tackle three objections. It could be objected that a problematic genealogy for T merely creates what Dentith (2022) calls ‘type-1’ (or ‘weak’) suspicion for T. I also consider a challenge according to which the genealogical method is meta-undermined, as well as an objection from epistemic laundering.

Author's Profile

Alexios Stamatiadis-Bréhier
Tel Aviv University

Analytics

Added to PP
2023-03-16

Downloads
26 (#76,105)

6 months
26 (#49,429)

Historical graph of downloads since first upload
DateDownloads
Mar 20232
Mar 20235
Mar 20233
Mar 202312
Mar 20234
This graph includes both downloads from PhilArchive and clicks on external links on PhilPapers.
How can I increase my downloads?


PhilPapers logo by Andrea Andrews and Meghan Driscoll.
This site uses cookies and Google Analytics (see our terms & conditions for details regarding the privacy implications).

Use of this site is subject to terms & conditions.
All rights reserved by The PhilPapers Foundation

Server: philpapers-web-5b46f67b76-wvpvj N