Writing fan fiction is never not fun. – WIL WHEATON dot NET



Writing fan fiction is never not fun.

I have been reading the Internet, as you do, and I see a lot of my fellow nerds are as excited to see the TNG cast back together as I am.

I’ve also seen a LOT of people — like, way more than I ever would have imagined –expressing dismay that Wesley isn’t part of it.

I share some of your sadness, for my own reasons, but I choose to focus instead on how special it’s going to be to see my family back together again, and how wonderful it’s going to be to talk with them about it in the Ready Room.

Still, I’ve been thinking all day … what would happen if Wesley DID show up? Why would Traveler Wesley be there? And my imagination did its thing.

So I sketched this out in my head, and … well, it felt like something that was worth sharing.

INT. CHATEAU PICARD – NIGHT.

Jean-Luc sits in a comfortable chair. He’s spent a lot of time here, lost in precisely this kind of thought. He’s sipping a glass of wine. Number One is asleep at his feet. The room shimmers in the golden light — but not the warmth — of a blazing fire. Deep shadows fill the corners, reflecting in their way the shadow on Picard’s face.

He looks up. Did he just sense movement in the shadows? He looks back to Number One, who is snoring on the floor, kicking his legs. Picard slowly stands up.

CUT TO WIDE. There it is. A figure in the darkness.

PICARD
(more curious than alarmed)
Hello? Who’s there?

A beat. We hold our breath. Is it Q?

The figure emerges from the shadows, instantly familiar to some of us. It’s Wesley Crusher. Older. Wiser. Maybe a little haunted? A Traveler who has seen some shit. He smiles warmly.

BACK TO PICARD

PICARD
…Wesley?

TRAVELER
It’s good to see you, Captain.

The fire crackles. Picard regards him for a long moment. It’s been 20 years. It’s a lot to take in.

PICARD
(feeling it)
Wesley, I haven’t been your Captain for a very long time.

Now it’s Wesley’s turn to regard him.

TRAVELER
You will always be my Captain.

Picard’s smile almost reaches his eyes. This is more than a simple reunion, and he knows it.

PICARD
Why are you here? In this place? At this time?

The Traveler takes a deep, deliberate breath. Before he speaks, Number One growls, then barks. Through the windows, it’s getting brighter. Is the sun rising? No, it’s too fast, too bright, to be the sun. This is more like a spotlight being shined directly into the room. Picard shields his eyes from the increasingly blinding light. The Traveler is unaffected.

TRAVELER
(as the light begins to swallow them)
… because this is where I am needed.

The white light fills the screen.

Black letters fade in: TO BE CONTINUED.


Writing fan fiction is never not fun, y’all.

Related

the width of a circle

While watching Discovery to prepare for Ready Room, I had this sudden realization that my journey and Wesley's journey are almost identical. I don't think I've ever thought about it until just now. But check this out. When we were about 20, we walked away from everything we knew, every…

It’s misty and stormy, and other words that are not also stage names for strippers

Yes, the episode is still tedious and the Ferengi are so fucking lame if they were horses we'd have to put them down, but once I decided to just relax and not worry about making the damn thing something it's incapable of being, I found some amusing bits. ... Off…

Wesley, I’m proud of you.

"Can I come over and play Dragon Age?" My son asked me. "Sure. I'm just going to watch more Land of the Lost tonight, so knock yourself out." I said. Ryan doesn't have Dragon Age at his house, and when he was house sitting for me a few weeks ago,…

134 thoughts on "Writing fan fiction is never not fun."

  1. IT’S THE FIFTH LIGHT

  2. You’re an author… ever think of writing an actual Star Trek novel? You wouldn’t even be the first Star Trek cast member to write one.

  3. Destiny Clifford |

    Hiya Wil! I am so sorry that so many people have been so cruel to you throughout the years. I can relate to the hardships you endured as a child because of what I endured. However, I want to thank you so very much. When I was little (until the age of 5), I thought Star Trek was real. So, Picard got to be my Father figure…but you were my first human crush. (Raphael from TMNT was my first overall. Lol) Wesley’s character was such an inspiration to me until I found out that Star Trek wasn’t real and had to figure out how to face my dismal reality. You were still a very bright spot in that timeframe. Thanks for doing Ready Room and being kind after all you have faced. I hope life becomes beyond wonderful for you. I am sad you won’t be in Picard, but thank you for showcasing just how awesome of a person you are on Ready Room. Btw, I was truly impressed by how open and vulnerable you made yourself on the last episode. Good for you, for speaking your truth.

  4. I wish Wil could come clean as to why he’s not a major part of season 3. It’s either bad blood with Patrick Stewart or he declined to be a part of the show.

    Personally it’s a major disappointment for me and a missed opportunity.

    As great as it is seeing Q and Guinan, the show needs Wesley.

    1. Buddy, you are as wrong about everything as you could possibly be.

  5. I find it really cool on how you now have "The Ready Room" – and your excitement and love of Star Trek often comes through.

    But I did wonder what happened here. And hope that you are all playing one HECK of a surprise on us.

  6. Theo Bracco |

    Headcanon: Wesley is The First Time Lord.

  7. I do love it, but between Q, a couple of Borg Queens, apparitions of dead Romulans, two Guinans and a Supervisor, mysterious strangers that transcend space and time have been popping up pretty much every week in Season 2!

    It’s hard to know exactly what a man can do to stand out from the crowd when the power to transcend time and space isn’t that big of a deal any more.

  8. 10/10 would watch

  9. I always like Westley Crusher and Will Wheaton. I was never a hater. I wish you the best.

  10. Perhaps you weren’t invited because of how fake you are? Your after show pretty much makes it impossible to take you seriously. Think Hollywood types that enjoy the smell of their own farts, that’s what I get from you. You are just gushing all over the new Picard season that practically takes a big steaming shit on TNG and has the worst writing of anything in the star trek universe, can’t you see that stuff kills credibility? Now you’re just a shill.

    1. I’m sorry you’re so unhappy, "Ann".

  11. Hello Wil. My eldest son also loves to write fan fiction. He is 18 and autistic and really wants to be a creative writer when he leaves school. Do you have any advice for him?

    1. Keep writing, and write without judgment. Write the story you want to read, and you’ll be delightfully surprised to discover that other people are also interested in that story.

      I like to write everything down for myself, as material I’m going to review and turn into something, later. Imagine a bunch of blocks, all scattered around. I want to build them into a castle. Before I can do that, I have to separate them into sets that can then be put together that will eventually form the castle. While I build small portions, large portions are going to be a mess. That’s okay. Nobody has to see the castle until it’s finished, and even then, if I want to keep in to myself, that’s okay, too.

      I hope some of this is helpful!

  12. Ahhhh!! This gave me chills I so hope they have you on a future season! Maybe you can be in the writing room too lol

Comment navigation

What's on your mind?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Search my blog

Search for: